Nils Frahm has released an album with eight tracks called Empty for Piano Day 2020. Listen to it below on Erased Tapes.

Empty was conceived before Frahm broke his thumb a few years ago (the injury led to his 2012 record Screws). The new album consists of eight solo piano pieces that were originally recorded for a short film that Frahm shot with director and friend Benoit Toulemonde.

"When I came back from the hospital with a broken thumb and listened to the recordings," Frahm said in a press release, "I felt that they were not yet finished. I decided to put them aside and started working on my little album Screws. " He added:

Many, many other notes on the piano have been struck these days, and before we all forget this, I thought it would be a good time to share these lullabies with you. I hope they help you stay strong and calm during these days of loneliness – despite the hardship, we can unexpectedly discover introspection and reflection. Who knows what it's good for?

Much love,


Frahm's last studio album was All Encores in 2019. Visit Pitchfork's 2015 interview "Nils Frahm's piano is bigger than yours".

To empty:

01 First loss
02 A shine
03 No step on the wing
04 The big O.
05 Second loss
06 A shimmer
07 sonar
08 black notes


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here